Baby/Blog Posts

Two pretty big pieces of news to share:

  1. This is my 200th blog post.
  2. My wife is pregnant.

The way that list is numbered makes it seem as though the 200th post thing is 1st in importance but obviously we all know that’s not the case. I am pretty proud of myself for reaching this arbitrary round number of posts, even if it has been over the last 6 years. It still averages out to about one post every ten days, which is only slightly less than I’m shooting for now (once a week). The big difference is, and I’m patting myself on the back a little bit here, is that I’ve been aiming to create content that is slightly more well thought out than just “guys check out this cool movie trailer.” As far as I’m concerned, I’m succeeding.

Onto the monumentally bigger news, I am going to be a father. That is a surreal and terrifying and very good sentence to write. The last year and a half has been a whirlwind of major life changes for us. I earned my graduate degree, we moved from the apartment we had called home longer than any other apartment (and subsequently left our ten minute walk to Red’s Alehouse, the best damn alehouse in the damn state), I took my first “real” “adult” job, Colleen found a job and then found a better job, we traveled to Miami and Seattle, we bought a car, and we bought our first home. And hot on the heels of the home purchase, we’re growing our family with a kid.

I feel blessed beyond comprehension. I am so very thankful for everything we’ve been given and the things we’ve earned, and I am especially thankful for Colleen. She is the greatest support, she provides for and takes care of our home so well, and she’s carrying our new child and going through all the stuff that comes along with pregnancy. Seems kind of unfair that all I have to do for nine months is not have a total mental freakout/breakdown. But she’s handling it like a total pro, carrying herself with grace even as she’s dealing with so much. And we like the same TV shows, so I honestly could not ask for a better partner.

So no worries, I have zero plans on this becoming a baby-centered blog as the months pass. I find I still have more fun writing about iTunes and personal finance than Baby.

I’m going to wager a guess and say our kid might have blonde curly hair. At least for a few years.

00000013 389898_10151108752260171_967609251_n

1 Comment

Filed under Blogging, Life

One response to “Baby/Blog Posts

  1. Beyond excited and overjoyed for the both of you, Jon!

    Harper’s fairly convinced that the little one (and my other cousin, who is due on the 31st as well!) is going to be her 4th birthday gift. 😉

    much MUCH love from Iowa City!

Leave a Reply

